User Tools

Site Tools


manual:faq:gps_lost_fix_android6

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
manual:faq:gps_lost_fix_android6 [2020/11/25 11:37]
mstupka
manual:faq:gps_lost_fix_android6 [2021/01/05 12:25] (current)
mstupka
Line 10: Line 10:
   * **only when the app is used** - Locus Map can get GPS location only when the display is on and Locus is "used", i.e. manipulated directly on the screen. When the display goes off, Locus loses the GPS location and can't record tracks, navigate, share location in real-time over Live tracking, etc.   * **only when the app is used** - Locus Map can get GPS location only when the display is on and Locus is "used", i.e. manipulated directly on the screen. When the display goes off, Locus loses the GPS location and can't record tracks, navigate, share location in real-time over Live tracking, etc.
   * **all the time** - the only mode in which Locus Map is permitted to run correctly in the background so please **USE THIS MODE!** It doesn't mean Locus is connected to GPS all the time though - only when it needs it so don't worry about the battery consumption.   * **all the time** - the only mode in which Locus Map is permitted to run correctly in the background so please **USE THIS MODE!** It doesn't mean Locus is connected to GPS all the time though - only when it needs it so don't worry about the battery consumption.
 +
 +==== Android 11 ====
 +This OS version goes even further. The "all the time" permission is **not included in the system app permissions**. You can select only "while using this app" or "ask every time":\\ {{ :manual:faq:loc_permission01.png?nolink |}}\\ When you **launch Locus Map** and start some feature that runs in the background (voice navigation, track recording, live tracking...), Locus displays a compulsory warning:\\ {{ :manual:faq:loc_permission02.png?nolink |}}. Then you are prompted to **allow all-time access to the location** in the system settings:\\ {{ :manual:faq:loc_permission03.png?nolink |}}\\ {{ :manual:faq:loc_permission04.png?nolink |}}
 +<WRAP center round important>
 +This setting, however, is not permanent. **After not using the app for some time (e.g. three months), the "all-time" access permission is taken away** and you have to go through this procedure again.
 +</WRAP>
 +
 ===== Exclude Locus from battery optimization ===== ===== Exclude Locus from battery optimization =====
 **Battery saving modes** or other **performance-optimizing settings** in your device kill apps they consider unused or redundant, no matter the app is running in the background on the user's request. The mode can be named differently depending on the device manufacturer. There are two ways how to prevent this - either **switch the saving mode completely OFF** or **make an exclusion for Locus** if it is possible. **Battery saving modes** or other **performance-optimizing settings** in your device kill apps they consider unused or redundant, no matter the app is running in the background on the user's request. The mode can be named differently depending on the device manufacturer. There are two ways how to prevent this - either **switch the saving mode completely OFF** or **make an exclusion for Locus** if it is possible.
manual/faq/gps_lost_fix_android6.txt · Last modified: 2021/01/05 12:25 by mstupka